Frindsbury Cricket Club was founded in 1885 and first played at Long Meadow which was situated behind the old Strood Rural District council Offices on Frindsbury Hill. The club stayed there until 1963 when Long Meadow was compulsory purchased by a local cement firm. A new ground was found at Frogs Island, Upnor which has been our home since that time. A new brick built pavilion was erected in 1984 following a fire that destroyed the original wooden clubhouse. The following year, 1985, saw the Club marking it’s centenary year by winning the old South Thames League for the only time.
In the years following this League title success, Frindsbury’s fortunes fluctuated somewhat. However, the past few seasons have seen a marked upturn both on and off the pitch, thanks mainly to a vibrant and committed group of young players who have had the Frindsbury traditions and ethos instilled into them by the Club’s Senior Members.
Recent years have also seen the continuation of what has always been a major strength of Frindsbury, the Junior Section. In 2016 we will be running teams at U11 U13, U15 and U17 level.
In 2006 Frindsbury CC made the notable achievement of obtaining Clubmark status and in 2008 we were awarded Focus Club status.